Granny Square Skoodie! Scoodie?

One of the first crochet projects I ever completed was a long black scarf. It had (and still has, I suppose) two white strips on each end, and has kept me warm for many a year. But, it is also wider at the end I started at (like I said, first project) and is starting to look rather ragged, so I decided the time would come soon where I would have to retire it from everyday use. Around the same time, my mother’s best friend shared with me an Annie’s Attic pattern for a skoodie. (The pattern printed “skoodie,” the website printed “scoodie,” and I am choosing to use the k because it is an underutilized letter.) I needed a new scarf! And I love hats! Perfect.

I was actually able to complete this project over the course of a weekend. The stitch that is used seemed to make it go faster; it was nice to get away from the boring-ness of single or double crochet. To me, the weaved look of the scarf is somehow subtle and eye-catching at the same time.

I'm not an angry person, but I've given up trying to legitimately smile in photos.

The yarn I chose for this came from the RIDICULOUS stash that lives in my basement. (I’m sure some of you yarnies know how it is…someone finds out you crochet or knit, and say OH MY MOTHER TAUGHT ME TO CROCHET/KNIT BUT I WAS NEVER GOOD AT IT HERE HAVE SOME YARN. This has resulted in three overflowing underbed bins filled with every color yarn you could possibly imagine. I think I even have some handspun in there. ANYWAY.) It would seem the two skeins of black I chose are not the same color black, so the hood is slightly different from the squares and the scarf. But I lucked out because it’s barely noticeable.

I’m not quite sure what to do with those pockets, though. Maybe I’ll need them for something someday, but currently I’ve been using them as quasi-mittens and treat people to bizarre puppet shows. I also opted not to make the fingerless gloves or leg warmers, mostly because I no use for either. Also, I made a pair of fingerless gloves AND a pair of legwarmers, but they have an almost-permanent home in my closet, considering it’s 2010 and I am no longer 22 years old.

This project on Ravelry

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. mona

     /  January 2, 2011

    Very nice- I made one , now every boby want one 🙂

    Reply
  2. Annie

     /  October 27, 2011

    I really like this pattern!
    Can you send the actually pattern to me. please. aclement.bb2104@gmail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

