Ivory Shawl

This is a good example of my big-project-ADD, something I wrote about here a few weeks ago. This took four months to complete, probably due to the fact it was almost 100 rows of the same thing and I got bored quickly. I also became discouraged when I realized I would almost never wear this, because I just have no use for something in ivory, so I imagine this will be mostly lent to friends and family in need of an ivory shawl. It makes a lovely bridal wrap, but as I am not a bride, this means nothing for me. Although maybe someday I will be, and I can use it then. The pattern is from Caron International.

shawl on bed
Here it is spread across the foot of my queen size bed.


Close-up of corner.

I used Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Fisherman for this project. I rather like this yarn, but as I’ve stated, would have used a different color due to personal preference. Also, it should be noted that I went through 6 or 7 skeins of yarn before completing this, so you might consider choosing a yarn that has a lot of yardage per skein, just for the sake of making things easier (like saving yourself trips to where ever it is you buy yarn).

Now that I’ve finally finished this, I am taking a break from big projects for a while. I know I have an afghan in the works (to replace one that I’ve made previously that’s begun to fall apart), so I feel like I need a break to work up my big-project-strength. Also I think I might try doing it in tunisian crochet, I just need to pick a graph. Any thoughts on tunisian?

This project on Ravelry

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

