Martini Dishcloth

Four or five months ago, I tried my hand at knitting (again). It didn’t go very well (again) and ended with an angry frogging of the dishcloth I tried to make for my mother. (This has been documented here, and then here.)

During my break from knitting, I came across tunisian crochet. I watched a few YouTube videos of people explaining how to do the stitches, and decided I wanted to give it a try myself. I ordered a set of bamboo tunisian hooks – these are really just very long regular crochet hooks, about twice the length of a regular hook. (I’d post a photo comparing the sizes but the hooks are in the basement, where I am not, and right now that’s far too much effort.) RESULTS AS FOLLOWS:


(This photo is pretty awful but still the best one I managed.)

The pattern is from a knitting pattern that can be found here. I rather enjoyed learning a new craft. At least, I find that it’s different enough from regular crochet to feel like I’m learning something new. (The only part that was the same was starting with a chain.) I highly recommend it for any crafter looking for a new skill, just don’t expect to wander into any craft store and find tunisian hooks; they don’t seem to very easy to come by.

This project on Ravelry

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

