“It’s Supposed To Be A Monkey But It Looks Like A Weird Ewok”

To be more accurate, it actually looks like a regular Ewok. Which would be great, if that’s what I was going for! Let me explain…

For some holiday at some point (I want to say a birthday, but who knows), I got my boyfriend a stuffed monkey from Hallmark. We have an inside joke with monkeys, and I happened to see it when I was in there getting something else (probably a card for said birthday). At the time I was unsure of it…it’s kind of odd looking. I think it’s the fur that bothers me, but I don’t really know. But if I recall, I was looking for something small for a specific purpose, so I just went with it. Unfortunately for me, the boyfriend loved it and I see it ALL THE TIME. I try hiding it and throwing it and doing whatever I can, but he still displays it somewhere where I can see it/it can see me.

Well, I’ve finally decided I’ve had enough of this poppycock. With an upcoming anniversary, I decided it would be the perfect opportunity to crochet something pattern free, with the added bonus of replacing Nasty Monkey. So I just started crocheting with no real plan in mind, except that I wanted it to be round like the pig and penguin from Lion Brand.

Here is the amazing result. I am slightly disappointed, because it just doesn’t really look like a monkey. It’s very cute, and I like it as a cute thing, but notsomuch as a monkey. I think it’s because of how high I placed the ears, but if they were much lower they’d be entirely too close to his little hands. I may add some nostril slits just to differentiate my special creation from an Ewok. (Ewoks are cute, but they are not monkeys!)

I gave it a tail in a feeble attempt at primate-ness, but since it’s, you know, in the back, it goes unnoticed for the most part. But that’s alright, because at least he has one. How else is he supposed to swing from trees?! But, like I mentioned, I did this pattern off the top of my head, so I’d like to share it with anyone who comes across it. (For the record, I used my beloved H hook, but gauge isn’t particularly important for this.)

HANDS/FEET (make 4)
Round 1: sc 6 in a ring (if you do a search online for the magic ring, that’s personally my favorite method for working with something that is round)
Round 2: 2 sc in next st, 1 sc in next, continue to end (9 sc)
Round 3: work even (9 sc)
Round 4: sc2tog, 1 sc, continue to end (3 sc, 3 sctog)
Fold the resulting tube-ish thing in half, and sl st the open end together. Leave a tail of a few inches to use to attach to the body later.

EARS (make 2)
Round 1: 6 sc in ring
Round 2: 2 sc in each sc (12 sc)
sl st in 1st sc of last round, fasten off. Leave a tail of a few inches to use to attach to the body later.

FACE
Ch 10, turn
Round 1: sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc in next 8 ch (9 sc)
Round 2: ch 1, turn, sc to end (9 sc)
Rounds 3-7: Repeat round 2
Round 8: ch 1, turn, 1 sc in 1st sc, 1 hdc in next sc, 1 dc in next sc, 1 tc in each of the next 3 st, 1 dc in next sc, 1 hdc in next sc, sc in last st (2 sc, 2 hdc, 2 dc, 3 tc – 9 st total)
Round 9: sl st in 1st st, sc in next st, hdc in next st, 1 dc in each of next 3 st, hdc in next st, sc in next st, sl sp in last st (2 sl st, 2 sc, 2 hdc, 3 dc – 9 st total)
Make a row of sc around the three flat sides.

TAIL
Ch 25, turn, sc in 2nd ch from hook and in each ch to the end.

BODY
Round 1: 6 sc in a ring
Round 2: 2 sc in each sc (12 sc)
Round 3: 2 sc in first sc, 1 sc in next, continue to end (18 sc)
Round 4: 2 sc in first sc, 1 sc in next 2 sc, continue to end (24 sc)
Round 5: 2 sc in first sc, 1 sc in next 3 sc, continue to end (30 sc)
Round 6: 2 sc in first sc, 1 sc in next 4 sc, continue to end (36 sc)
Round 7: 2 sc in first sc, 1 sc in next 5 sc, continue to end (42 sc)
Rounds 8-18: Work even (42 sc)
Round 19: sc2tog, sc in next 5, continue to end (36 sc)
Round 20: sc2tog, sc in next 4, continue to end (30 sc)

Right around here would be a good time to attach the ears, face & eyes, and hands.

Round 21: sc2tog, sc in next 3, continue to end (24 sc)
Round 22: sc2tog, sc in next 2, continue to end (18 sc)

This is where I started stuffing the little sucker.

Round 23: sc2tog, sc in next sc, continue to end (12 sc)
Round 24: sc2tog around (6 sc)
Cut yarn leaving a long tail to weave through the remaining 6 sc and pull, closing off this end of the sphere. Weave in this end and attach the remaining two feet and the tail.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Laura

     /  May 31, 2011

    Yeah. It does look like a short bus ewok.

    Reply
  1. We’re Just Two Peas in a Pod «

Leave a Reply

