Halloween, For The Childrens

As I have previously stated, my cousin was recently pregnant with her second child, who would be a planned cesarean baby. As it turns out, she still decided to come early! I didn’t get a chance to see her in the hospital, so a week after she came home I went out to Staten Island to visit the whole family…and as everyone knows by now, I can’t resist going to see her son (and now daughter!) without gifts.

a very willing model

She may have been early, but at least she was still an autumn baby…and very nearly an October baby…because I really wanted an excuse to make an adorable baby pumpkin hat. I was going to wing it and just make a regular hat and put a stem on it, but I’m glad I followed the instructions on FaveCraft – not only did it make it easy to add the vine parts, but the ridges looked more pumpkin-y AND it’s now easier to stretch over her noggin. For a week-old baby, it was way too long (even with the rim turned up a few inches) but I’m thinking she might grow fast enough where that won’t matter in a few weeks when it gets consistently cold enough that she needs a hat. Let me tell you, it’s the curly vine next to the stem that really makes this project…SO ADORABLE.

This project on Ravelry

 

   

As for the little man, this is the same little man that loves throwing around my amigurumi projects. I decided it was close enough to Halloween that I could make some spooky critters for him. The bat, while cute, was everything I dislike about amigurumi…which is really just lots of little pieces to put together. I mean, the pattern was great, I’m just lazy and I hate having to sew all these pieces together. The ghost had less pieces to put together; I tried to make a wavy edge on it, but it’s too small to really be appreciated and kind of took over the rest of the ghost, so I ripped it out and worked it even. He seemed more impressed with the ghost…but actually I think he just loved that he’d throw it and it would land right side up, because its shape lends itself to that.

The bat on Ravelry

The ghost on Ravelry

(The ghost pattern is a Ravelry PDF, so you’d have to access the pattern through there. The link to it can be found via my project link.)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

