CRAFT: 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Things About

CRAFT wrote a blog post about a call for submissions for their 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 series yesterday, and I don’t want to update on any of the Christmas projects I did until after I give them out, so here is 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Things About…me!

5.4.3.2.1. things about...

One Project You Are Particularly Proud Of:
1.
Probably the afghan I finished a few years ago. It fits a queen size bed and took me almost 3 years to finally finish. The pattern came from a day-to-day crochet calendar where each square was another day, and it was my first introduction to The Crochet Dude!

Two Mistakes You’ve Made in the Past:
1.
Well, I used to only crochet in the back loops for everything. It never occurred to me I was doing it wrong until I saw a video of someone crocheting.
2. Limiting myself to just crochet! There so many awesome crafty things out there.

Three Things That Make Your Work Unique
1.
I crochet on the fly – I just make stuff up as I go, be it with the pattern or the yarn.
2. I don’t try things out before I begin their final iteration; this makes for some interesting results, to say the least.
3.

Four Tools You Love to Use
1.
my brain
2. my computer
3. Yarn – it can be used for more than crocheting and knitting!
4. Glue! It fixes so many problems. Paper, felt, E6000(!!)…I actually glued an end on an afghan and hid it.

Five Inspirations
1.
My grandmother – she taught me to crochet, and I like to think I’m making her proud by continuing the family’s craftiness.
2. Pinterest!
3. My massive yarn stash.
4. If I’m making a gift, whoever I’m making it for. (And lately, most of everything I’ve been making has been a gift because I have no room to put anything I were to make for myself!)
5. Martha Stewart’s website. SO MANY THINGS.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

