National Craft Month: Luggage Handle

Okay, so updating weekly with sewing updates didn’t go very well. I have a lot of non-sewing stuff I’ve been working on and got sidetracked! But I am now back to tell you about a new project I sewed – a luggage handle!

021

Our luggage is black (as you can see) so when we had to get it from the turnstile on our honeymoon, it was an aggravating guessing game. When I found this tutorial (and its simplicity!), I knew it would be great to try out for National Craft Month!

The main change between my version and the tutorial from Little Birdie Secrets is that I didn’t use batting – I just felt no need, and I’m quite the penny pincher. That being said, I didn’t cut the fabric into two pieces – it was unnecessary since I wasn’t using batting. So this is what my supply list looked like:

001

And let’s not forget an attention-seeking cat!

010

You’re doing something so I have to be all up in your business, since I am a cat.

I also didn’t use straight pins, because I couldn’t locate them at that moment and didn’t really care to, since this wasn’t a garment that needed to be extremely precise. Hence edges that looked like this!
007

Besides what I mentioned, I followed the tutorial, and there isn’t a whole lot else to note. We could talk about how I’m lazy (again), and didn’t iron:

Also notice the awesome straight lines! NOT.

Also notice the awesome straight lines! NOT.

Other than my previous notations, I followed the tutorial. It will be so satisfying next time we’re in an airport!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

